Timing chain and exhaust question - Saturn ION RedLine Forums
Saturn ION Redline Saturn ION Redline Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Saturn ION RedLine Forums > ION Redline Forums > ION Redline Discussion

RedlineForums.com is the premier Saturn Ion Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2010, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Timing chain and exhaust question

Ok so I've asked about it before when it comes to the stupid timing chain tensioner. I've been holding off changing it for a couple of months, but now the intermittent "clacking" is happening more often. Does this mean I should change it asap? I don't want to be driving one day and blow the motor

Second on the list. As marked in my signature I have the Vibrant header downpipe combo linked up to the Magnaflow cat back. I would of bought the Vibrant cat back, but I came across the Magnaflow one at my local shop for less than cost price, so naturally I took it. This was back in September 08. Then in April 09 the resonator took a shit and had to be replaced. 100$ right there. Then ever since mid summer 09 until now it's been sounding like ass. Now on idle I can hear metallic rattles in the muffler. Is it the sound suppression materials that are finished?

I ordered a new muffler from Vibrant (150$) hoping to cure the sound. But honestly I don't think it will help. I've checked with a magnet and it won't stick to the Vibrant components but on the Magnaflow it does. So clearly their claimed 100% T304 stainless steel exhausts is pure bs.

I've never had an issue with the Vibrant part ever since installed in May 08. Some advice on maybe how to fix my horrible exhaust sound would be great and if needed I'll post a vid for you guys. On a last note...never buy Magnaflow...