-Misfire...Please help- - Saturn ION RedLine Forums
Saturn ION Redline Saturn ION Redline Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Saturn ION RedLine Forums > ION Redline Forums > Problems & Troubleshooting

RedlineForums.com is the premier Saturn Ion Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

-Misfire...Please help-

Hey guys. I'm new to your forum, and have a problem that I'm hoping you can help me with, since I'm new to these GM engines. I'm on many honda/acura forums but this one is about my wifes car.

She has a 2007 Saturn ion 2.2 base model, and I'm pulling codes p303 (cyl. 33 misfire), and p300 (rand. misfire). I've checked spark on all four coils, and they all seem to be firing just fine. I pulled the plug wire on cyl. #3 while the car is running, and it does NOT effect idol at all, which tells me obviously it's not firing properly.

I've replaced the injector, and all plugs are new and gaped to specs. I reset the ecu, and cleared the codes, but it still keeps coming back.

My question is, is this a common problem with these types of engines? And what to check next? ICM? But if I'm getting spark on all plug packs, why is it missing? Could the icm just not be producing enough spark for that cyl.?

Please help, this shit is driving me crazy. She's only getting approx. 15 mi. to the gallon.

Thanks a bunch,
-Shadow29485-
shadow29485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2013, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)

Wow! No one has a clue, huh?
Old 02-27-2013, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)

Here is a pretty detailed check list to take a look at. I used this same list for looking into a spark issue on my SL2.

You should have better luck with it.

Troubleshooting Spark Plug Check List
youngrwaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)