Tint info from state to state
Got this from another forum. I thought it was useful.
Percentage Numbers represent amount of light transmission.
Example : 35% means 35% light transmission.
Also known as VLT or Visible Light Transmission.
Film - Amount of light that is required to pass through window film.
Example : 35% Film means that the film must pass through at least 35% visible light.
Net - Amount of light that is required to pass both the car window and the tint film.
MPV - A vehicle such as a recreation vehicle such as a pickup truck including GMC Suburbans, Nissan Pathfinders, Extra Cab Trucks
When info is given, it is in the format of :
Windshield / Front Side Windows / Rear Side Windows / Rear-Back Window / Year Passed
NO - No Film is Allowed
ANY - Any degree of tinting is allowed
AS-1 - On the windshield, there is a mark that says "AS-1" toward the top that defines that the tint cannot go below.
UnDef - Nothing defined in the law.
FMVSS 205 - A regulation that is found in the Code of Federal Regulation. The regulation is found in 49 CFR 571.205
35 % Film - Light that is measured on the film alone
35 % Net - Light that is measured both through the film and car window
4 inches / 35 % Film / 15 % Net / 5 % Net / 1994
A tint brow on the windshield cannot go no lower than 4 inches, 35% film may be applied to the front side windows, 15% light must go through the combined window film and windows for the rear side windows and 5 % light transmission is required on the rear back window and film combined. The year 1994 is the year that the law went into effect.
6 inches / 35% Film / 35% Film / 35% Film / 1996
Note : MPV Vehicles are exempt behind the front side doors.
5 inches / NO / 40% Net / 40% Net / 1994
Note : MPV Vehicles can have any degree of tinting behind the front side doors so long as they comply with FMVSS 205. Mirrored tint is prohibited.
Enforcement Note : Tint regulation does apply to non-Alaska registered vehicles. State Troopers write fix-it tickets which requires "repair" within 5 days and the City of Anchorage will write $150 tickets for the violation.
UnDef / 35% Film / ANY / ANY / 198?
UnDef / 25% Net / 25% Net / 10% Net / 1994
Note : MPV's are allowed 10% Net tint on rear side windows
Enforcement Note : Tint law applies only to AR registered vehicles and vehicles from other states that have NO tint law which is now moot since all 50 states have some type of tint law with Wyoming being the last to pass a tint law.
4 inches on top / 93% / ANY / ANY / 1987 ?
Note : If the rear-back window is tinted, left and right rear-view mirrors are required.
NO MEDICAL EXCEPTINON!
Enforcement Note : Out-of-State cars driven in California are required to be in compliance with the CA Tint law.
2 Phase Law:
4 inches or AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / 1989
4 inches or AS-1 / 27% Net / 27% Net / 27% Net / 1989
Note : No mirrored tint is allowed.
Enforcement Note : The fine for being in violation is $50 and the driver is not usually required to fix the windows. Tint shops are not allowed to tint cars beyond state law. State patrol carries light meters along with some local towns but they don't worry about window tinting unless it is very dark such as limo tint (5%).
Complex / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1995
Note : MPV Vehicle windows behind the front side doors are exempt so long as they meet FMVSS 205. The Windshield can have a tint strip at the top. The amount is determined by a complex formula as defined in Sec 14-99g, Subsection C, part 11 as written by an East Coast lawyer.
AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / 199?
District of Columbia
NO / NO / 50% Net / 50% Net / 1994
Enforcement Note : Can apply to out-of-state motorist, no out-of-state exemption defined in statute.
AS-1 / 28% Net / 15% Net / 15% Net / 198?
Note : MPV Vehicles windows behind the front side doors must allow for 6 % Net light transmission.
Enforcement Note : Law enforced by the use of light meters and can apply to out-of-state motorist.
NO / 32% Net / 32% Net / 32% Net / 2005
Note : New law went into effect that can be enforced on out of state vehicles as well as Georgia registered vehicles. Penalty is up to $1000 and/or 12 months in jail as a misdemeanor.
On Jun 8, 2004, the Georgia Surpreme Court threw out GA's tint law since it discriminated against GA residents by not applying to non-residents. Look for the non-resident exemption to be repealed next year which would reinstate the tint law.
This can have ramifications for other states who exempt non-residents from their tint laws. Legislation was sponsored in the 2004 session to remove the non-resident exemption but failed to pass.
ANY / ANY / ANY / ANY / 1978/9
Note : It was illegal to have tint but the tint law was declared unconstitutional as noted in the court decision part.
NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 198x
Enforcement Note : Illegal tint on cars can be a reason to be failed in the state safety inspection.
AS-1 / 35% Film / ANY / 35% Film / 1993
Note : Mirrored tint is illegal. Medical exemption ia available. Cars with window tint that are considered illegal can apply for a waiver between June 30, 1992 and Jan 1, 1993.
NO / NO / ANY / ANY* / 1984 ?
Note : If window tint is applied to the rear-back window, a right and left rear-view mirrors are required. Cars before 1982 model year are exempt from IL tint law.
30% Film / 30% Film / ANY / 30% Film / 1995
Note : Darker tint is allowed for medical reason only as attested to by medical doctor or eye doctor.
Enforcement Note : Out-of-state motorist can be ticketed for being in violation of IN tint law but are usually left alone. Law enforcement usually enforces the tint law on the front side windows. Most law enforcement do not know that the rear-back window is included in the law. Some local towns will fine motorist $200 for violation as well as requiring them to fix it.
Legislation: HB1282 which will basically outlaw window tint. It would ban any tint that would go beyond Federal Standards which is 70% visible light transmission. Violation would fall under an enhanced penalty of a Class B infraction which has a max fine of $1000.
AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / Unknown
Note : A pending bill in the legislature would mandate light transmission on all windows of at least 70% (Basically no aftermarket tint allowed). Puts the federal window tint regulation into state law.
Enforcement Note : Iowa is spotty on enforcement but can enforce the law against out-of-state motorist such as writing a fix-it ticket.
AS-1 / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1987
AS-1 / 35% Film / 18% Film / 18% Film / 1988
Note : MPV Vehicles can have 8% Film behind the front side doors.
AS-1 / 40% Net / 25% Net / 12% Net / 199x
NO / 50% Film / 50% Film / 50% Film / 198x
Enforcement Note : As the law is read, it can be applied to out-of-state cars. A car with tint that is more dark than allowed by the state can fail safety ispection.
NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1993
NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net
Enforcement Note : People with 35% tint have been given tickets for tinting due to light meters reading less than 35% since car glass can have from 70% to 90% window tint.
4 inches / 4 inches / ANY / ANY / 198x
Note : Changes to the law has been discussed such as allowing for 35% tint on the front side windows but the State Police would push hard for a complete ban on tint if it got through and they have the political power to do it.
Enforcement Note : Michigan State police will give the 3rd degree look to any car that is not in compliance with MI tint law but will usually leave out-of-state motorist alone.
5"/ 50% Film / 50% Film / 50% Film / 1995
Note : Darker tint is allowed with Medical Exemption.
AS-1 / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1989
Enforcement Note : Illegal window tint can be a reason for failing the yearly state safety inspection.
AS-1 / 35% Net / Any / Any / 2002
Originally Posted by AlphaJaguar5, in referance to the coke vs soda vs pop arguement
If you say Pop your a queer. It's that simple.
/\ best rebuttle ever, thats a retort fo dat ass
Last edited by sheek360; 10-31-2006 at 02:47 PM.