Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this LSJ supercharged engine. I did a search about the intercooling system and I see that it uses its own coolant supply. But what I couldn't find was a post of anyone adding a second tank in line with the factory tank. Am I missing the design of the tank? What I'm thinking is a small 1 gal tank under the hood with the capability to add ice and reduce charge air temps. The pump is there the lines are there, it would be just like putting in second tranny cooler, no sweat! But I have to be missing something in the design of the intercooler system. Is it the traditional method of roots type intercooling?

·
Registered
535 Posts
No one has tried anything like that yet. Everyones cars are still to new. Ive thought about a turbo/ front mounted innercooler set up after reworking the internals/ECU but thats about it.

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
I think a front mount would work awsome. The stock IC is in the stupidest spot possible. I think, if anything, it should've been in front of the A/C condensor.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
A front mount air to air intercooler would require extensive fabribation being that the factory setup is integrated. The easiest route would be modifying the stock setup, or developing a larger intercooler to fit in the stock location like the 3800 guys. Roots type supercharging is completely different from turbocharging, sure they both produce boost but they go about it in different means. So what the turbo guys do doesn't always apply to the blown guys. I've seen the moroso tank used for fuel only, but I guess it would work. I was looking for something to increase the 2 quart capacity of the stock tank so when we do the pulley swap we can keep the heat down.

·
Super Moderator
4,617 Posts
DarricksZ28 said: