Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I searched the forum didn't find anything...but here's the issue.

I use to be able to put my key in my car and the dome light would turn off. Know it doesn't. It stays on until my car is in forward motion which is a pain in the ass for backing up at night.

Also I could lock my car and then hit my lock button again (with key-less pad thing, can't remember name for it) and the car would beep and let me know that it is actually locked... it no longer does that as well.

I'm assuming it is some sort of fuse. Curious if anyone can verify that for me and tell me what fuse may need to be replaced... I'm total newbie.

Thanks.

·
BECAUSE RACECAR
7,440 Posts
Check ur dome fuse, ur light should go off once ur cars locked. As far as it honking on the 2nd lock im not sure.

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
can you honk the horn from the steering wheel?

·
Registered
3,132 Posts
can you honk the horn from the steering wheel?
Good call. Something in the wiring is likely mucked up somewhere. (my random wild guess is something in the steering column since the honks stopped and the key-light sensor stopped working)

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
I can honk the horn from the wheel. I also noticed when I try to lock with remote it makes the ding ding noise like it is warning my keys are still in the ignition.
seems like its in the factory alarm, maybe?

·
Registered
1,766 Posts

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
thats the body control module

·
Registered
1,766 Posts

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
Wouldn't I notice something more than just the dome light staying on until I'm driving forward and no honk on remote lock? Or can it partially fail?
idk...... i would check out the factory alarm system then go for the big stuff.

·
Registered
1,766 Posts

·
Registered
5,612 Posts