Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the whole "competitive" engines, and was wondering the risks of racing at a track. If you pop a tire and run into a wall, besides the death and dismemberment, would insurance cover it because you weren't doing anything illegal? Would your insurance drop you for doing it period? Anyways, like I said I'm still new to anything speed related, so go easy on me. I was talking it over with my parents while out to eat and they about reached over the table just for thinking about it.... something about "If you want to know how fast your car goes in the 1/4 mile open up Car and Driver" oh yeah and my personal favorite "If you want to take into consideration the driver, I'll take you down to the arcade and let you play a video game of it to see how fast you'd go"

IONTOP

·
Superd00d
22,040 Posts
No, insurance does not cover you. My ex's husband wrapped his TransAm around a tree at one of the road courses a few years back, and was responsible for the full price of the car. Insurance is USUALLY very specific about racing, if you call your insurance agent, I know you probably don't want to tell him that you want to race, but he can answer it for certain. Remember, he can't raise your rates just for asking!

·
Registered
888 Posts
Sp00ner said:
No, insurance does not cover you. My ex's husband wrapped his TransAm around a tree at one of the road courses a few years back, and was responsible for the full price of the car. Insurance is USUALLY very specific about racing, if you call your insurance agent, I know you probably don't want to tell him that you want to race, but he can answer it for certain. Remember, he can't raise your rates just for asking!