Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is going to probably be some basic stuff for you guys and most likely discussed a million times but im looking for some straight answers on upgrading my stock RL to a stage 2.
-My question is if i upgrade the injectors, pulley, and belt, is the only thing left ill need is a good tune?
-And if i want to use 60# injectors what is a good pulley size to pair it with?
-Can a dealership do the tune after all parts are installed? or do i need someone with hptuners to do it?

Any other helpful information would be awesome! Im pretty new to my Redline and i have it in storage and wanted to get it running really well for this summer. Thanks for all responses and direction given.

·
Registered
4,724 Posts
This is not the most popular suggestion but based on my experience you would be best served by buying a genuine GM stage 2 kit from CED and going from there

All the patch and paste bits deals with various states of tunes from various tuners good and bad are hit and miss....check out CED and then all the alternative advice your gonna get from here.

ZZP do a cheaper version of the GM stage 2 tune, but I would advise you to get it installed by them that way you can be sure of a good robust stage 2 non OEM version.

·
Registered
1,976 Posts
Since you are most likely out of warranty, the GM Stage 2 might not be the best option. The plus side of the GM Stage 2 kit is that you can just take it to a dealer and have them flash the tune on it (or even have them install the whole thing).

As qwick mentioned, ZZP offers stage kits similar to GM's stage kits. The mail order tunes aren't the best, but they can to a good custom tune. If you aren't close to them, you'd probably want to have someone with HP tuners do a custom tune. Plus, the ZZP stage kits have a few more options (you can include a heat exchanger and/or a dual-pass endplate).

·
Registered
4,724 Posts