Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my lowering springs and i was wondering if it was possible for me to do them myself. I went to the local shop and he said it took an hour for each wheel and he wanted like 47 dollars a tire. Do i need the compresser for the shock and strut. Sorry i have never done this before.

·
Superd00d
22,040 Posts
shanek said:
I just got my lowering springs and i was wondering if it was possible for me to do them myself. I went to the local shop and he said it took an hour for each wheel and he wanted like 47 dollars a tire. Do i need the compresser for the shock and strut. Sorry i have never done this before.
You might be best off paying to have it done, or at LEAST get someone to help you. It's not hard, but one mistake with a compressed spring is a bad day. I've never done it, I hear it's not too bad, I also know a guy in Florida that is permenantly crippled in one arm, and talks with a lisp from a spring releasing on him, and breaking his arm and jaw. I know that's the exception, but make sure you know what you're doing first.

·
Registered
115 Posts
I did mine last weekend. I've done several lowerings of cars and trucks this one took me just a little bit longer then normal but there not to hard the worst part was finding the star socket for the front struts.

·
Premium Member
3,231 Posts
pretty simple really a compressor with some type of safety mechanism is the only way to go. The rear took 10mins the front about half hour.

·
Superd00d
22,040 Posts
How do you do the fronts on our cars? Only done springs on Camaros before. I really wish there was a good manual out for the car...

·
Registered
524 Posts