Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've noticed over the last couple oil changes on my '07 Ion SC 2.0 that my oil level is getting low after only a couple thousand miles after an oil change. I was a gm tech back in the early 2000s and remember customers coming with oil consumption concerns and it was acceptable for an engine to use 1 qt per 2000 miles under normal driving conditions. I changed my oil about 1500 miles ago and today I noticed a ticking noise when I pulled into my garage. I checked the oil and it was barely indicating on the dipstick. There is nothing leaking under the vehicle, the coolant is clean and it's not smoking out the exhaust that I can tell. The car has 180k miles and the person I purchased it from a few years ago said the only performance work it's had done was port/polished heads. I've been using the stock recommended mobile 1 5w-30. Has anyone else experienced oil consumption like this before or has any suggestions?

· Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm going to throw it up on the lift tomorrow and take a peek around. I'll pull the plugs and see how things look as well. I just couldn't believe how quick the oil level dropped after only 1500 miles.

· Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)