Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4,671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well, I finally nabbed a decent job here in Pittsburgh--not bad, considering I graduated from college less than two weeks ago :)

So, now it's time to do the test drives; which I did today :D

I first hit up Dodge. The guy let me take an SRT-4 for a spin. Talk about power! But in the end, I don't like the styling, or the price. I think I can scratch it from my list, as much fun as it was to drive.

I then went to Toyota/Scion. Buzzed around in a tC. The price was right--a little less than $17k. But it didn't have the supercharger (which brings power to about 200 or so). It's quick, and I do like the styling, but the dealer informed me it would be around $3k for the supercharger. And that's without any other options (no TRD exhaust, ground effects, spoiler, etc). The price jumps a bit with each. I'm not really interested.

So...I went to Hyundai next...first spin in a Tiburon (an '05, with the revamped styling). It had the 2.7L V6 (around 172 horses) and 6 spd. I was impressed. Frankly, I think the Tib is a sexy car. The exhaust note was great. It handled very well. The interior was also impressive, and it was a good bit quicker than the tC. The sticker was around $20k, and the dealer (who I bought my '02 Elantra from) said he could knock off around $1,500 or so. I also like the leather, and the seats were pretty damn supportive. Handed back the keys with a smile on my face. I know for a fact that if it had 20 or 30 more horses, I'd take it in a heartbeat (I'll get to that).

Made Saturn my last stop. The dealer had two '04s on the lot, both silver (I like the color...stays cleaner longer). The savings are around $5,500 off sticker, so around $17k. Took it for a spin--you guys aren't kidding. Though I can tell the SRT-4 is quicker, it wasn't by much. Handles like a dream, and I DO like the styling.