Saturn ION RedLine Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Got this from another forum. I thought it was useful.


Percentage Numbers represent amount of light transmission.
Example : 35% means 35% light transmission.
Also known as VLT or Visible Light Transmission.
Film - Amount of light that is required to pass through window film.
Example : 35% Film means that the film must pass through at least 35% visible light.

Net - Amount of light that is required to pass both the car window and the tint film.
MPV - A vehicle such as a recreation vehicle such as a pickup truck including GMC Suburbans, Nissan Pathfinders, Extra Cab Trucks

When info is given, it is in the format of :
Windshield / Front Side Windows / Rear Side Windows / Rear-Back Window / Year Passed
Where :
NO - No Film is Allowed
ANY - Any degree of tinting is allowed
AS-1 - On the windshield, there is a mark that says "AS-1" toward the top that defines that the tint cannot go below.
UnDef - Nothing defined in the law.
FMVSS 205 - A regulation that is found in the Code of Federal Regulation. The regulation is found in 49 CFR 571.205
35 % Film - Light that is measured on the film alone
35 % Net - Light that is measured both through the film and car window


Example

4 inches / 35 % Film / 15 % Net / 5 % Net / 1994

A tint brow on the windshield cannot go no lower than 4 inches, 35% film may be applied to the front side windows, 15% light must go through the combined window film and windows for the rear side windows and 5 % light transmission is required on the rear back window and film combined. The year 1994 is the year that the law went into effect.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alabama
6 inches / 35% Film / 35% Film / 35% Film / 1996

Note : MPV Vehicles are exempt behind the front side doors.

Alaska
5 inches / NO / 40% Net / 40% Net / 1994

Note : MPV Vehicles can have any degree of tinting behind the front side doors so long as they comply with FMVSS 205. Mirrored tint is prohibited.

Enforcement Note : Tint regulation does apply to non-Alaska registered vehicles. State Troopers write fix-it tickets which requires "repair" within 5 days and the City of Anchorage will write $150 tickets for the violation.

Arizona
UnDef / 35% Film / ANY / ANY / 198?

Arkansas
UnDef / 25% Net / 25% Net / 10% Net / 1994

Note : MPV's are allowed 10% Net tint on rear side windows

Enforcement Note : Tint law applies only to AR registered vehicles and vehicles from other states that have NO tint law which is now moot since all 50 states have some type of tint law with Wyoming being the last to pass a tint law.

California
4 inches on top / 93% / ANY / ANY / 1987 ?

Note : If the rear-back window is tinted, left and right rear-view mirrors are required.

NO MEDICAL EXCEPTINON!

Enforcement Note : Out-of-State cars driven in California are required to be in compliance with the CA Tint law.

Colorado
2 Phase Law:
4 inches or AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / 1989
4 inches or AS-1 / 27% Net / 27% Net / 27% Net / 1989

Note : No mirrored tint is allowed.

Enforcement Note : The fine for being in violation is $50 and the driver is not usually required to fix the windows. Tint shops are not allowed to tint cars beyond state law. State patrol carries light meters along with some local towns but they don't worry about window tinting unless it is very dark such as limo tint (5%).

Connecticut
Complex / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1995

Note : MPV Vehicle windows behind the front side doors are exempt so long as they meet FMVSS 205. The Windshield can have a tint strip at the top. The amount is determined by a complex formula as defined in Sec 14-99g, Subsection C, part 11 as written by an East Coast lawyer.

Delaware
AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / 199?

District of Columbia
NO / NO / 50% Net / 50% Net / 1994

Enforcement Note : Can apply to out-of-state motorist, no out-of-state exemption defined in statute.

Florida
AS-1 / 28% Net / 15% Net / 15% Net / 198?

Note : MPV Vehicles windows behind the front side doors must allow for 6 % Net light transmission.

Enforcement Note : Law enforced by the use of light meters and can apply to out-of-state motorist.

Georgia
NO / 32% Net / 32% Net / 32% Net / 2005

Note : New law went into effect that can be enforced on out of state vehicles as well as Georgia registered vehicles. Penalty is up to $1000 and/or 12 months in jail as a misdemeanor.

On Jun 8, 2004, the Georgia Surpreme Court threw out GA's tint law since it discriminated against GA residents by not applying to non-residents. Look for the non-resident exemption to be repealed next year which would reinstate the tint law.

This can have ramifications for other states who exempt non-residents from their tint laws. Legislation was sponsored in the 2004 session to remove the non-resident exemption but failed to pass.

Guam
ANY / ANY / ANY / ANY / 1978/9

Note : It was illegal to have tint but the tint law was declared unconstitutional as noted in the court decision part.

Hawaii
NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 198x

Enforcement Note : Illegal tint on cars can be a reason to be failed in the state safety inspection.

Idaho
AS-1 / 35% Film / ANY / 35% Film / 1993

Note : Mirrored tint is illegal. Medical exemption ia available. Cars with window tint that are considered illegal can apply for a waiver between June 30, 1992 and Jan 1, 1993.

Illinois
NO / NO / ANY / ANY* / 1984 ?

Note : If window tint is applied to the rear-back window, a right and left rear-view mirrors are required. Cars before 1982 model year are exempt from IL tint law.

Indiana
30% Film / 30% Film / ANY / 30% Film / 1995

Note : Darker tint is allowed for medical reason only as attested to by medical doctor or eye doctor.

Enforcement Note : Out-of-state motorist can be ticketed for being in violation of IN tint law but are usually left alone. Law enforcement usually enforces the tint law on the front side windows. Most law enforcement do not know that the rear-back window is included in the law. Some local towns will fine motorist $200 for violation as well as requiring them to fix it.

Legislation: HB1282 which will basically outlaw window tint. It would ban any tint that would go beyond Federal Standards which is 70% visible light transmission. Violation would fall under an enhanced penalty of a Class B infraction which has a max fine of $1000.

Iowa
AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / Unknown

Note : A pending bill in the legislature would mandate light transmission on all windows of at least 70% (Basically no aftermarket tint allowed). Puts the federal window tint regulation into state law.

Enforcement Note : Iowa is spotty on enforcement but can enforce the law against out-of-state motorist such as writing a fix-it ticket.

Kansas
AS-1 / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1987

Kentucky
AS-1 / 35% Film / 18% Film / 18% Film / 1988

Note : MPV Vehicles can have 8% Film behind the front side doors.

Louisiana
AS-1 / 40% Net / 25% Net / 12% Net / 199x

Maine
NO / 50% Film / 50% Film / 50% Film / 198x

Enforcement Note : As the law is read, it can be applied to out-of-state cars. A car with tint that is more dark than allowed by the state can fail safety ispection.

Maryland
NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1993

Massachusetts
NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net

Enforcement Note : People with 35% tint have been given tickets for tinting due to light meters reading less than 35% since car glass can have from 70% to 90% window tint.

Michigan
4 inches / 4 inches / ANY / ANY / 198x

Note : Changes to the law has been discussed such as allowing for 35% tint on the front side windows but the State Police would push hard for a complete ban on tint if it got through and they have the political power to do it.

Enforcement Note : Michigan State police will give the 3rd degree look to any car that is not in compliance with MI tint law but will usually leave out-of-state motorist alone.

Minnesota
5"/ 50% Film / 50% Film / 50% Film / 1995

Note : Darker tint is allowed with Medical Exemption.

Mississippi
AS-1 / 35% Net / 35% Net / 35% Net / 1989

Enforcement Note : Illegal window tint can be a reason for failing the yearly state safety inspection.

Missouri
AS-1 / 35% Net / Any / Any / 2002
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,594 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Enforcement Note : New law removed out-of-state exemption but don't know how the MO State Highway Patrol will deal with that ?

Tint is NO LONGER part of the State Safety Inspection, a plus for MO residents.

Additional Note: Took effect Feb 14, 2002. Original law banned tint on the front side windows but allowed anything behind and then changed in 2001 for 35% NET on ALL windows and in 2002 changed to 35% NET on front side windows but once again, anything behind goes !

Montana
AS-1 / 24% Net / 14% Net / 14% Net / 1991

Note : MPV Vehicles windows behind the front doors are exempt from tint law. Cars before Oct 1, 1991 that were registered in Montana and had tint that would be considered illegal under the law can continue to have any kind of window tint but the registration must indicate a tinted window waiver and the waiver can no longer be applied for. Those who have waviers can continue to use them and when the car is sold, the waiver is good for the next owner.

A permit for dark tint can be applied for if needed for security or medical reasons.

Enforcement Note : Montana Law enforcement is lax on enforcing the tint law but there is a heavy fine if enforced and maybe required to be fixed.

Nebraska
AS-1 / 35% Film / 20% Film / 20% Film / 199x

Nevada
AS-1 / 35% Film / ANY / ANY / 1993

Note : There is a medical exemption for the tint law.

Enforcement Note : Tint law does not apply to 1993 or older model cars that had tint applied before July 1, 1993.

New Hampshire
NO / NO / 35% Net / 35% Net / 198x

Enforcement Note : Having illegal tint can mean the failure of the state safety inspection.

New Jersey
NO / NO / ANY / ANY / 198x

Enforcement Note : Illegal window tint can be the reason for failing state safety inspection.

New Mexico
AS-1 / 20% Net / 20-% Net / 20-% Net / 1997

Note : Local law takes precedence over state law. The most liberal tint law in the country. MPV, trucks, buses can have anything behind the front side windows. Tint done before Jul 1, 1997 is exempt from the law.

New York
NO / NO/ NO/ NO / 1993

Note : Very strict law. Replacement glass that is tinted is allowed if and only if the original windows were tinted as well. Medical exemption is provided for with permission from Commisioner of Motor Vehicles.

North Carolina
AS-1 / 32% Net / 32% Net / 32% Net / 1996

Enforcement Note : Illegal tint is a reson to fail state safety inspection. Out-of-state cars must be in compliance with tint law in the state where registered.

North Dakota
AS-1 / NO / ANY* / ANY* / 1989

Note : If windows behind the front side doors are tinted, a right and left outside rear view mirror is required.

Enforcement Note : The tint law may be applied to non-resident cars as written.

Ohio
5 inches / 50% Film / ANY* / ANY* / 2004

Note : Director of Ohio DPS determines what degree of tint that is legal on motor vehicles in Ohio. The tint law has been known to be enforced on out-of-state cars in some towns.

Revised from 50% on all windows before. Mirrors on both sides are required for the dark tint.

Oklahoma
Before 1996 Model Year :
AS-1 or 5 inches / 25% Net / 10% Net* / 10% Net* / 1995

1996 Model Year and after :
AS-1 or 5 inches / 25% Net / 25% Net / 25% Net / 1995

Note : MPV windows behind the front side doors are exempt from the tint law. Outside right and left rear view mirrors are required if tint is darker than 25% net for pre-1996 vehicles. Law enforcement and government owned vehicles are exempt.

Oregon
6 inches / 50% Film & 35% Net / 50% Film & 35% Net / 50% Film & 35% Net / 1996

Note : MPV windows behind the front side doors are exempt as long as they are in compliance with FMVSS 205.

Government and Law Enforcement vehicles are exempt from the tint law. If ordinary people are required to obey this law, it should definitely apply to government and law enforcement vehicles.

Enforcement Note : Tint Law may be applied to out-of-state vehicles.

Pennsylvania
NO / NO / NO / NO / 1996 for 1998 model year and after NO / NO / ANY / ANY before 1998 Model Year

Enforcement Note : Illegal tint on cars can be a reason to be failed in the state safety inspection which was struck down in court.

Rhode Island
NO / NO / NO / NO / 1993

Note : MPV's are exempt on windows behind the front side windows but the windows must comply to FMVSS 205 which is usually 30% VLT.

Government and Law Enforcement vehicles are exempt from the tint law. If ordinary people are required to obey this law, it should definitely apply to government and law enforcement vehicles.

South Carolina
UnDef / 27% Net / ANY / *27% Net / 1993

Special Note : If the rear-back window was tinted darker than 27% VLT before 1/1/93, it continues to be legal as long as it is the original tint. There was also a bill to require 50% VLT on front side windows and rear-back effective 1/1/99. If the Rear-back window was done before 1/1/99, it must have at least 27% VLT. It never got out of committee but with many sponsors, it can be counted on to be back.

South Dakota
Undef / 26% Net / ANY / 11% Net / 1991 ?

Note : The defined numbers include an enforcement tolerance of 9%. The numbers are the absolute darkest that is allowed. Violation is a Class 2 Misdemeanor.

Tennessee
NO / 35% Film / 35% Film / 35% Film / 198x

Note : MPV's and SUV's can have darker tint behind the front side doors such as extended cab trucks.

Texas
Before 1988 Model Year:
AS-1 / 35% Film / 20% Film / 20% Film / 1988

1988 Model Year and after :
AS-1 / 35% Film / 35% Film / 20% Film / 1988

Enforcement Note : Illegal window tint can be the reason for failing state safety inspection. State DPS carry light meters especially around the Mexican Border.

Utah
NO / 43% Net / ANY / ANY / 2002

Note : Previous laws allowed only 28% tint behind and prior, nonthing was allowed on the front side windows and anything behind.

Enforcement Note : Illegal tint can be a reason to fail safety inspection. The tint law can be enforced on out-of-state cars. Violation is a Class C misdemeanor.

Vermont
AS-1 / NO / ANY / ANY / 198x

Enforcement Note : Tint law can be applied to out-of-state registered cars. The fine is $120.50 with no points.

Virginia
AS-1 / 43% Net / 35% Film / 35% Film / 1993

Enforcement Note : Tint law may technically be applied to out-of-state registered cars. There is HB 1563 which would make the law apply to VA registered cars only. The bill did not pass. VA State Police opinion on out-of-state cars with tint that does not comply with VA law.

Washington
6 inches / 32% Film / 32% Film / 32% Film / 1989

Note : MPV Windows behind the front side doors are exempt.

Enforcement Note : Tint law applies to non-Washington registered vehicles.

West Virginia
AS1 or 5 inches/ 35% Film / 35% Film / 35% Film / 1991 ?

Wisconsin
NO / 50% Film / 35% Film / 35% Film / 1996

Note : MPV windows behind the front side doors are exempt. The new tint regulation is defined under the Tran-305 administrative rule.

Enforcement Note : Tint regulation applies to non-Wisconsin registered vehicles but out-of-state motorist are normally left alone for tint.

Additional Notes : 2 demerit points are assessed for tinted window violation. Revisions to the regulation is being considered this fall and comments can be sent to B. Bird at the Wisconsin DOT. One of the proposed revisions is exempting out-of-state cars that are temporarily in Wisconsin such as tourist.

Wyoming
AS-1 / 28% Net / 28% Net / 28% Net / 1997

Note : MPV windows behind the front side doors are exempt. There is a medical exemption which allows for window film as dark as 25% light transmission.

I came across a newspaper article located at Laramie County Community College. The article which mentions the new law.

Alberta
15cm / NO / ANY / ANY / ????

British Columbia
7.5 cm / NO / ANY / ANY / ????

Enforcement Note : Tint law applies to non-residents.

Manitoba
15 cm / 45% Net / 30% Net / 30% Net / 19??

New Brunswick
NO / NO / ANY / ANY / 19??

New Foundland
15 cm / Vague / ANY / ANY / 19??

Northwest Territories
NO / NO / ?? / ?? / 19??

Enforcement Note : Tint law applies to non-residents.

Nova Scotia
NO / NO / NO / NO / 19??

Ontario
Vague / Vague / ANY / ANY / 198x

Note : Has vague law. Law simply says that the windshield and front side windows cannot be tinted to the extent that people and contents inside cannot easily be identified from the outside.

Enforcement Note : Tint law applies to non-residents.

Prince Edward Island
15 cm / NO / ANY / ANY / 19??

Quebec
15 cm / NO / ANY / ANY / ????

Enforcement Note : Tint law may apply to non-residents.

Saskatchewan
15 cm / NO / ANY / ANY / 19??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,771 Posts
CA is actually:
Front Windshield: 4" max at Top
Front Side: No Less than 93%
Rear Side: Any
Rear Back: Any

NO medical exemption
P.S. you stole this from the SVTPerf. site didnt you, sheek?
i got 20% front and 13% rear and I blend in pretty well out here with all theMercedes and BMW's with 6%
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,594 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
socalsilverRL said:
CA is actually:
Front Windshield: 4" max at Top
Front Side: No Less than 93%
Rear Side: Any
Rear Back: Any

NO medical exemption
P.S. you stole this from the SVTPerf. site didnt you, sheek?
i got 20% front and 13% rear and I blend in pretty well out here with all theMercedes and BMW's with 6%
ill update it. my bad
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,036 Posts
sheek360 said:
BIG TIME!!!
Take a weekend vacation then...do many people on here even have their windows tinted? I would never tint my RL...I want everyone to walk by, peer in and take a second look when they see "RECARO" on the seats. :ack:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,403 Posts
Fineline said:
Wisconsin sucks, 50% side front is b.s., why bother.
Not only "why bother" but also, "no one makes it anyway." Then again, I've run 20% tint on most my cars without of front plate and never been pulled over for either.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,523 Posts
Here in Michigan....you can't have tint on the driver & passenger side windows, but dark as you want on the back windows

On my old GAGT I had 5% tint on the whole car, and got busted. Then I went down to 20% on the side windows and got busted again. Then I went with 50% (the lightest available) and still got busted (at night!).

I gave up on tint on the side windows after that last incident
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
931 Posts
hmmm I have 5 black all around I heard it's 300bucks a window if you get busted and yes it's worth tinting... getting busted maybe not
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,787 Posts
Lousy Sask laws...any darkness behind the drivers head is okay but drivers head forward, nothing [that includes front side window's].
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
399 Posts
Cool bunch of info by the way sheek, thanks dude. I love this forum, so much stuff about our cars and mods in general.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,945 Posts
I'll +1 the Minnesota find... just got pulled over :D
Funny thing was I had it tinted in Maryland and paid for 20% on the front two and 5% on the back 3... the piggy metered my window w/ his little doohicky and it read 22% on the front passenger! I didn't say anything but looked at my wife when he went back to his car and said "those MD bastards ripped me off! it's supposed to be 20%" haha

Everything illegal about my car has now been officially documented by the MN patrol - and I've been given written warnings about all of it... hahaha

No "fix-it" tickets yet tho, so nothing's changing, bitches!
 

·
I
Joined
·
7,838 Posts
Maybe i am reading wrong but what is the law in FL say? My brother says it can be as dark as you want on any window but the driver and passenger, which those have to be 30%. Is this right? My car is registered in FL but i live in NY. I'm pretty sure NY is 35% all around. I'm trying to figure out how dark i can tint within both state limits.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,044 Posts
The saturn dealer ship near my work has a light meter and would not pass my old sc2 because it was %20.....but down here none of the small inspection shops even look at it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,523 Posts
all4glh said:
Maybe i am reading wrong but what is the law in FL say? My brother says it can be as dark as you want on any window but the driver and passenger, which those have to be 30%. Is this right? My car is registered in FL but i live in NY. I'm pretty sure NY is 35% all around. I'm trying to figure out how dark i can tint within both state limits.
I thought in Florida it was legal to have dark tint all the way around??

I lived down there for a year, and that's what everyone had on their cars (because of the heat)
 

·
Superd00d
Joined
·
22,040 Posts
I can't believe Cali says you have to have your car to THEIR specs to drive it there. I didn't think they could do that? I was under the impression that one state cannot make a law that effect another state's citizens that are following the laws. Particuarly one that involves changing equipment on your car...
 
1 - 20 of 45 Posts
Top